Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

A Flood of Fawning Reviews For Apple's Latest

timothy posted about 10 months ago | from the nifty-design dept.

Upgrades 501

Like many other review sites, it seems that MacWorld can hardly find enough good things to say about the new Mac Pro, even while conceding it's probably not right for many users. 9to5 Mac has assembled a lot of the early reviews, including The Verge's, which has one of the coolest shots of its nifty design, which stacks up well against the old Pro's nifty design. The reviews mostly boil down to this: If you're in a field where you already make use of a high-end Mac for tasks like video editing, the newest one lives up to its hype.

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

I use Ubuntu (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776773)

I have anal sex with and from men

Will it blend? (4, Funny)

dougisfunny (1200171) | about 10 months ago | (#45776807)

But the question we all want to know the answer to is: will it blend?

Re:Will it blend? (1)

Virtucon (127420) | about 10 months ago | (#45776831)

No but I'm sure I could use it to keep my sailboat anchored out in the bay.

Re:Will it blend? (5, Informative)

tepples (727027) | about 10 months ago | (#45776835)

Yes. Apple is working with the Blender team [macrumors.com] to optimize the popular free 3D design package for Mac Pro.

Re:Will it blend? (1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776925)

I see. So, not without heavy optimization.

Re:Will it blend? (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777205)

Not quite the answer to what the parent was asking, but interesting none-the-less.

Re:Will it blend? (1, Informative)

StrangeBrew (769203) | about 10 months ago | (#45777141)

I used to want to know if it would blend, like you, then I took an arrow in the knee.

It's pretty neat (4, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776825)

I read the review on the Mac CAD site a few days ago. They go into the GPU performance, and it looks like if you need the GPU offerings they are bundling, it's not a horrible deal. One supposes if you're into something specific like Mac CAD, then your CAD software will be updated to take advantage of that specific hardware, because it's a closed ecosystem. If you're an architect invested in a Mac workflow, then dropping $2-3K per year on your main desktop doesn't sound horrible.

As a no-longer-an-Apple-guy, I might be interested in seeing a standards develop for commodity parts that used the tower cooling design. My big old LianLi Al case certainly takes up too much desk space. Then again, I should stick it in a closet and use a KVM extender, shouldn't I?

Re: It's pretty neat (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777123)

Why on earth would you do that? Unless you have some sort of ac vent that leads into your closet, that system is going to overheat in there.

Advancing in what direction? (4, Interesting)

fuzzyfuzzyfungus (1223518) | about 10 months ago | (#45776827)

Hey guys, have you ever wanted to buy a workstation with half as many sockets and half as many DIMM slots as the prior generation? What if I remove all the capacity for internal expansion cards so that you can enjoy buying external cardcages? Still not sold? I've come up with the least rackable shape in the history of computing, you'll love it!

Re:Advancing in what direction? (3, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776843)

I do video editing and while I don't current need a new workstation, I see no problem with it. Neither me, nor my colleagues keep anything internal. All work goes on external or networked drives.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (3, Insightful)

mlts (1038732) | about 10 months ago | (#45776895)

I think you hit the nail on the head. It would be nice to have had the canister Mac Pro be sold as a workstation, and the old tower with the ability to use expansion cards be made into a case that could function as a tower, or rack ears attached and put in that way.

Heck, Compaq was able to do this with some of their Deskpros in the mid-1990s (IIRC), and Sun had kits for this for various Ultra models... I don't see why Apple couldn't offer this, so they have at least some presence in a server room without a major hassle.

This cylinder looks cool, but for someone with FPGA boards [1], being limited to the relatively few PCIe lanes that Thunderbolt exposes to the breakout box will be a hurdle compared to just sticking the card into the case and going from there.

[1]: Not for BitCoin mining, although when not in use, that has come to mind.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1)

jbolden (176878) | about 10 months ago | (#45777049)

People aren't buying the old one. Apple's customers don't want the size.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (5, Interesting)

CanHasDIY (1672858) | about 10 months ago | (#45777173)

People aren't buying the old one. Apple's customers don't want the size.

So, Apple's typical customer cares more about aesthetic than usefulness?

10 years ago that would have been a solid burn (because it wasn't really true); today, when I take into consideration the people I know who tend to buy Apple products*, I'd say it's a far more true statement than ever before.

* Other than the handful of graphic designers and musicians, myself included.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (3, Interesting)

jbolden (176878) | about 10 months ago | (#45777303)

-- So, Apple's typical customer cares more about aesthetic than usefulness?

I'd say yes and I'm an Apple customer. The iPhone makes huge sacrifices for weight and thin. The rMBP makes huge sacrifices for weight and thin. the iMac. Yes, absolutely. aesthetics are a big part of what Apple sells.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1)

jedidiah (1196) | about 10 months ago | (#45777249)

> People aren't buying the old one. Apple's customers don't want the size.

If people aren't buying the old one, it probably has nothing to do with it's size. It probably has to do with the fact that it is OLD. Being OLD, it's probably it is out of date and is about to be superceded with something new.

Being OLD it probably also has poor price performance relative to other PC workstations.

Short of being designed as an insult to the IT guys that have to maintain this stuff, it's also a much needed hardware update with stuff like a current CPU.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776947)

with half as many sockets and half as many DIMM slots as the prior generation

External expansion and higher density RAM solved that problem. Also, why would you want to put a piece of art in a rack?

Re:Advancing in what direction? (5, Insightful)

Chas (5144) | about 10 months ago | (#45777189)

Because it's not a piece of art. It's a tool.

If you read the Verge article it talks about Apple having talked with people and horror stories of people sawing the handles off their old Mac Pros so they could fit into a rackmount.

This is kind of important for crews with large amounts of equipment, as hand-carrying every...individual...component...is about the stupidest possible way to do it. Being able to rack a complete solution just makes more sense. You drop the case where it needs to go, plug it into power and a monitor and go.

With the new version, you pull out your "case O' stuff", unpack the Mac. Unpack the first peripheral, unpack the second peripheral, unpack the third peripheral...and so on. Y'know, DUMB.

Apple may have listened. But they apparently didn't hear a damn thing.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1, Informative)

BasilBrush (643681) | about 10 months ago | (#45777007)

Rackable? It's a workstation not a server.

Internal expansion is the dirty past. Let it go. It's about as relevant electric drill attachments for sawing and sanding.

Total memory is the significant metric, not the number of slots it fits into. And that's 12/16 GB vs 6/12GB for the older versions.

Sockets? The old Mac Pro didn't have any ThunderBolt sockets. This one has 6 ThunderBolt 2 sockets (supporting up to 36 devices).

It also has 4 USB 3 sockets (vs 5 USB 2 sockets on the old model.) Which presumably is the straw you're clutching.

Your complaints are without merit.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (2)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45777143)

6 ThunderBolt 2 sockets

that are working off of up to 3 over all TB channels each one with it's own UP TO pci-e 2.0 X4 link.

so you thing that repleting a lot of slots with a system that maxes out about 12 pci-e 2.0 lanes is good? But at the max one device can only use X4 pci-e max and at the same time tie up the full channel that it is on.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1, Flamebait)

ttucker (2884057) | about 10 months ago | (#45777225)

Macintosh people don't like relevant specifications, only marketing hype.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (2, Interesting)

lennier1 (264730) | about 10 months ago | (#45777221)

Rackable? It's a workstation not a server.

There's actually a third-party rack in the works for these. Think of something like a wine rack, but designed to hold these instead.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (4, Interesting)

Kenja (541830) | about 10 months ago | (#45777237)

More stuff goes into racks then just servers. Go into any audio studio, the Mac Pro will be in a rack. Same with video editing bays. But I guess Apple isn't interested in those markets anymore. Shame really...

also only 1 build in storage port that maxs at 1TB (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45777015)

Build in storage is weak only 1 port 256GB base and the said thing is it's looks like there was a plan for 2 storage ports? that hit some kind of IO / pci-e lane limit? Can't do raid over the pci-e flash?

Re:Advancing in what direction? (5, Interesting)

Kenja (541830) | about 10 months ago | (#45777161)

Advancing backwards. The new "Mac Pro" is just a "Mac Cube" version 2. I for one will not be buying one, which means my current Mac Pro is the last Macintosh I'll be getting. No internal drive bays, no expansion slots, not a professional computer. I would have to cover my desk with external devices to match what's in my current tower configuration.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1)

Applehu Akbar (2968043) | about 10 months ago | (#45777165)

I'm sure that your beloved floppy drives and serial port cards are available from someone as USB 3.0 connections.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (1)

ttucker (2884057) | about 10 months ago | (#45777281)

Someone will be standing by with insanely overpriced Thunderbolt based devices for you to buy.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777169)

Hey guys, have you ever wanted to buy a workstation with half as many sockets and half as many DIMM slots as the prior generation? What if I remove all the capacity for internal expansion cards so that you can enjoy buying external cardcages? Still not sold? I've come up with the least rackable shape in the history of computing, you'll love it!

With upwards of 32GB sitting on one DIMM these days, ever think there might not be a need for 16 fucking DIMM slots anymore? Just a thought.

All those times you diligently performed system updates on your Macs over the years, never questioning if they ever queried your hardware profile and deduced that 95% of Mac Pro users ran with mostly empty systems, including the second processor slot.

Like most marketing decisions, they are more driven by statistics than art. Users spoke towards this design more than you think.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (4, Insightful)

ttucker (2884057) | about 10 months ago | (#45777259)

With upwards of 32GB sitting on one DIMM these days, ever think there might not be a need for 16 fucking DIMM slots anymore? Just a thought.

This makes the dangerous assumption that the memory needs of applications will remain the same going into the future. In three or four years when applications make use of more memory, you will be buying a new Macintosh. Oh, I see how that works.

Re:Advancing in what direction? (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777317)

Grow up. I know many folks with Mac Pros. They have never popped anything into the chassis. In the 1990's, it might have been something to be desired, but that was over 10 years ago. All their stuff is external. So it's a non-issue with the new Mac Pros.

Stop trying to make it sound like it's a problem to make yourself fell better.

Video editing... (4, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776837)

The whole superiority of Apple might have been true many years ago, but now it's just nonsense. You can get a Windows machine with the same hardware specs for half the price with the same software (unless you insist on using Final Cut).

Video editing in particular is a poor example, as it doesn't have critical latency requirements - and pretty much all recent benchmarks show that Windows does a little better across the board.

Audio is a better example, because on an unmodified Windows install, live audio WILL have worse latency and WILL have a very high chance of dropouts when compared to Apple. A tweaked Windows install will be on par.

I am no MS shill - I just believe in using the right tool for the job, and fanboys by definition don't believe in facts.

Re:Video editing... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776889)

Sometimes you just want something cool and fun, and you buy a Rolex instead of a Casio, or a Ferrari instead of a Volvo.

Re:Video editing... (3, Insightful)

jedidiah (1196) | about 10 months ago | (#45776901)

You are confusing tools for professionals with overpriced doo-dads intended to fool other people into believing that you are wealthy.

Re:Video editing... (1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777135)

Right you are, jedidiah.

I need tools that work so I can do my job, that don't creatively reinterpret the "Universal" in "Universal Serial Bus", that don't break compatibility with mission-critical Firewire devices that were released within a reasonably recent timeframe, on which I can upgrade the graphics accelerator to keep improving productivity as time goes on. We don't just buy a new computer every year at work. We're lucky enough to get an upgrade every two or three years. And other companies aren't so lucky.

It's past time to bite the bullet and switch to a platform that DOESN'T hang me out to dry... now if only it wasn't so expensive to switch... hard to convince the powers-that-be to relicense everything and buy new computers for a whole organization though... Apple did what they did, knowing it would lock us in.

Re: Video editing... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777139)

Everyone has their own preference, even professionals. Surprising right?

Re: Video editing... (0)

jedidiah (1196) | about 10 months ago | (#45777261)

> Everyone has their own preference, even professionals. Surprising right?

Keep on feeding those excuses to yourself.

Re: Video editing... (2, Informative)

tysonedwards (969693) | about 10 months ago | (#45776907)

I've just specced out a Dell, and the Dell is $1016 more expensive. Add to that, the Mac Pro only consumes 450w versus the Dell's 1500w, which in turn will save $1040/year in power. While the others will probably come down in price in a few weeks to months, at this moment Apple does have the edge on price. Now, when you compare to build-it-yourself, you are absolutely correct that Apple is more expensive, but so is everyone else too.

Re: Video editing... (5, Informative)

hawguy (1600213) | about 10 months ago | (#45776949)

I've just specced out a Dell, and the Dell is $1016 more expensive. Add to that, the Mac Pro only consumes 450w versus the Dell's 1500w, which in turn will save $1040/year in power.

While the others will probably come down in price in a few weeks to months, at this moment Apple does have the edge on price.

Now, when you compare to build-it-yourself, you are absolutely correct that Apple is more expensive, but so is everyone else too.

I can believe the pricing (though I had a hard time finding a Dell with equivalent specs - can you post the configuration here?), but I'm having a hard time believing that a Dell with equivalent hardware specs to the Mac Pro uses 3 times more power, since the underlying hardware is, well, equivalent.

Re: Video editing... (5, Informative)

djdanlib (732853) | about 10 months ago | (#45777163)

If you want to talk about power supplies... You are confusing the maximum available spec with the normal power draw of the system. I have an 800W power supply in my reasonably overpowered Wintel gaming box. It draws ~160W during normal use, up to 300W while gaming. Most people will be fine with a 450W power supply unless they add a whole bunch of extra hardware, especially hard drives. The other benefit you usually see with a higher-wattage power supply is that it's typically built with better power filtering and more efficient components, so you would save money with a more efficient power supply even though it is rated for higher maximum available power. It's not totally intuitive. The more you know!

$1040/year in power? (4, Funny)

iceperson (582205) | about 10 months ago | (#45777183)

Are you generating power by throwing money into a furnace to fuel a steam engine?

Re:$1040/year in power? (1)

Jarkov (1867240) | about 10 months ago | (#45777313)

Apple Steampunk?

Re: Video editing... (5, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777191)

The Dell consumes 1500W, or it has a 1500W power supply? Those are not the same thing.

Re: Video editing... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777267)

Tyson, what Dell you "specced out" that had similar specs with the Mac and cost THAT much more? Could you provide the link? Because I have a hard time finding such a Dell machine, considering I could not find any ATI cards and the Nvidia ones they have for dual card setups are much more powerful to start with.

Re: Video editing... (3, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45776917)

Equivalent video cards alone cost $1400 or so, so you most definitely cannot build an equivalent pc or half the price. Perhaps you could wind up cheaper, but not nearly by as much as you suggest.

and the non pro video cards are just about the sam (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45777043)

and the non pro video cards are just about the same.

Now what does the mac pro booted to windows show them as?

Re: Video editing... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777067)

"You can get a Windows machine with the same hardware specs for half the price"

No you can't. Nonsense. Bullshit.
This is not some consumer kit. Roughly comparable Workstations from Dell and HP cost at least as much as the MacPro if not more.

Re:Video editing... (1)

jbolden (176878) | about 10 months ago | (#45777069)

I don't see it. Just to test I configured a dell workstation and I'm within about 12% with a few things still worse.

Re:Video editing... (2)

CanHasDIY (1672858) | about 10 months ago | (#45777207)

Audio is a better example, because on an unmodified Windows install, live audio WILL have worse latency and WILL have a very high chance of dropouts when compared to Apple. A tweaked Windows install will be on par.

My experience tells me otherwise: Regardless of how much I tinkered with it, Neither XP or 7 could deliver acceptable latency with either the Rocksmith 1/4" TS cable, nor my Korg K49.

the 2008 model Macbook I was given, however, syncs both up perfectly; albeit not at the same time, but I'm pretty convinced that's either a software issue (Garageband seems to play better with multiple USB input devices than Logic), or just good ol' fashioned user incompetence.

Re:Video editing... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777229)

The whole superiority of Apple might have been true many years ago, but now it's just nonsense. You can get a Windows machine with the same hardware specs for half the price with the same software (unless you insist on using Final Cut).

Video editing in particular is a poor example, as it doesn't have critical latency requirements - and pretty much all recent benchmarks show that Windows does a little better across the board.

Audio is a better example, because on an unmodified Windows install, live audio WILL have worse latency and WILL have a very high chance of dropouts when compared to Apple. A tweaked Windows install will be on par.

I am no MS shill - I just believe in using the right tool for the job, and fanboys by definition don't believe in facts.

You're missing 2 things:
1) Someone in graphic design and certain other professions are almost expected to have Apple devices. It doesn't matter whether they're actually better or not, only that clients expect it. Since many of these guys rely on piece work for their income, appearances matter a lot.

2) Apple tends to be a little forward thinking (lately) in display technology. The new Macbook Pro literally blows cheaper options out of the water on screen quality and resolution. Anything comparable costs almost as much or as much, so really, if you buy Apple you're paying for a screen. The iPhone kind of sucks now compared to other options, but iPad still boasts one of the best screens in the industry (again, comparable Android tablets cost just as much) and the Macbook Pro's screen is amazing, 2560x1600 (around 15 inches, probably over, diagonal iirc), additionally it's a high end LED (not sure if these still use IPS technology but they look just as good) and they offer matte again (finally).

There are some asinine things about this laptop, Thunderbolt is certainly one of them, but all in all you can't find a comparable one for any cheaper, really. If you need that kind of oomph, yeah, get one.

Not a great value, in my opinion (4, Informative)

WilliamGeorge (816305) | about 10 months ago | (#45776871)

- Only a single CPU, despite using the more expensive line of dual-CPU capable Xeon E5 processors (so you are paying for the added circuitry to handle dual procs without the corresponding benefit).

- Dual video cards, despite this not being a gaming system. Granted, some media editing applications can utilize multiple GPUs for computing - like Adobe Premiere Pro CC - but many cannot, and even ones that can don't necessarily get a doubling of performance from the second card.

- Only room inside for a single drive, so any serious storage has to be external (adding wires and cluttering up things, rather than saving space like this small form factor seems to be designed for).

- 64GB of RAM maximum, despite the CPU's ability to handle more.

- Upgrades overpriced... and this is coming from someone who works at a custom system builder, and we sometimes get dinged by folks for charging more than Newegg. Obviously things like labor, support, warranty, etc have to be factored into the parts costs, but Apple charges more than any other company I've seen for that 'value add' (this is not new news, though - just a continuation of what they have always done).

I've already had customers of mine asking for price and performance comparisons, and the good news? We always come out on top! I love PCs :)

Re:Not a great value, in my opinion (4, Informative)

Trepidity (597) | about 10 months ago | (#45776911)

Only a single CPU, despite using the more expensive line of dual-CPU capable Xeon E5 processors (so you are paying for the added circuitry to handle dual procs without the corresponding benefit).

This is a bit of a bummer, but I think they nonetheless went with the Xeons over the desktop-class Intel processors because of the support for ECC RAM.

Re:Not a great value, in my opinion (3, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777121)

They could have gone with the cheaper Xeons. Not all the Xeons are dual-socket.

Re:Not a great value, in my opinion (1)

geekoid (135745) | about 10 months ago | (#45776927)

price performance to do what?
Blade servers would be far better than PCs.

Re:Not a great value, in my opinion (1)

phayes (202222) | about 10 months ago | (#45777127)

He gets to crow "My PC is more powerful than a Mac Pro". Wow, how impressive...

On a side note: Way to go Timothy, flamebait in the header, of course nobody expects anything better from you given your track record.

Re:Not a great value, in my opinion (3, Interesting)

NoImNotNineVolt (832851) | about 10 months ago | (#45777177)

Despite my lack of interest in Apple products and video editing, I actually did read the fucking article.

Adobe Premier doesn't use the second video card. It barely uses the first one. It pegs the CPU.

Apparently Final Cut X (whatever that is) is the only video editing software that features optimizations that make use of all this hardware. It's apparently wicked fast, but people hate Final Cut X. Apparently, Final Cut 7 was great, but X blows, despite running like a champ on this system.

My head did almost asplode when I saw the price tag, though. I guess the barebones model isn't that overpriced at $3k, but the configurations they mention weighing in around $10k sound like hilariously bad deals.

GPU cards for OpenCL (3, Interesting)

SuperKendall (25149) | about 10 months ago | (#45777269)

Dual video cards, despite this not being a gaming system. Granted, some media editing applications can utilize multiple GPUs for computing - like Adobe Premiere Pro CC - but many cannot

On the other hand if there are a lot of professional systems that have a ton of power available to those that program in OpenCL, might not we see a new class of accelerated applications?

If nothing else it will probably get Blender to support OpenCL.

Apple has historically tried to promote a more advanced standard to make possible applications that are not written yet, but can be with new technologies.

And while currently not everything uses OpenCL, now there is powerful motivation to do so. But Photoshop, Aperture and Final Cut all make use of this hardware so there's lots of people that will benefit.

Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (5, Informative)

Assmasher (456699) | about 10 months ago | (#45776883)

...coming from someone with a 2012 Mac Pro dual hex core.

I know it's been said before, but for God's sake people - paying Apple's RIDICULOUS prices for SSD, RAM, processors, is just insane.

I like OSX, and Apple's laptops are sometimes the best choice, but as a desktop or dev box? Last choice by a wide margin. I only had to buy one for very specific (unhappy about it) reason and hopefully will never need to buy one again.

Just an example of the obscene pricing from Apple, 24GB of RAM from Apple was going to cost me almost $2000 at the time. TWO THOUSAND DOLLARS. I bought better RAM, ending up with 26GB, with better performance and all the same trimmings (ECC et cetera), and it cost me $400.

I wonder if their SSDs are made out of solid gold as well... Oh, and good luck with upgrading your graphics card in a year.

Re:Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1)

oodaloop (1229816) | about 10 months ago | (#45776937)

I sometimes joke with my Apple fanboi friends that they're paying four times as much for something twice as good. But it's worse than that, isn't it?

Re: Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1, Informative)

tysonedwards (969693) | about 10 months ago | (#45776943)

You are incorrect.
32GB is $400.
64GB is $1200.

Re: Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1)

Assmasher (456699) | about 10 months ago | (#45777065)

No I'm not.

I'm clearly talking about when I bought the one sitting in my office.

Re: Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1)

NoImNotNineVolt (832851) | about 10 months ago | (#45777199)

Buy 3, get -1 free?

Re:Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1)

jbolden (176878) | about 10 months ago | (#45777099)

Yes. Paying $200 to upgrade my iPhone from 16g to 64g which probably ran Apple about $30... Apple is usually overall high but reasonable but on some things total robbery.

Re:Sheer ridiculous stupidity... (1)

OzPeter (195038) | about 10 months ago | (#45777291)

paying Apple's RIDICULOUS prices for SSD, RAM, processors, is just insane.

Which is why my next Apple desktop will most likely be a mac mini and not an iMac, and I doubt I will get another MacBook Pro (even a refurbed one)

Except (1)

geekoid (135745) | about 10 months ago | (#45776909)

their are better (i.e. more powerful) systems for the same or less money for video and animation rendering. I don't really know who this is for. It cost the same or more then professional high grade systems and is less powerful. It it's performance is more then would ever be used by high end games.

No, I'm not a hater I just see any good business case for having one.

Re: Except (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777091)

Wrong.

I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (5, Interesting)

maroberts (15852) | about 10 months ago | (#45776921)

...and produce a new 17"+ MacBook Pro with Retina display quality

Re:I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777023)

Quite possibly the dumbest thing I've ever heard. Do 17" laptops still exist?

Re:I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (1)

koan (80826) | about 10 months ago | (#45777115)

I have one, 2009 Macbook pro, bought it when I worked at Apple so I got it at ~$1000 (fully stocked too).
Would I pay list price? Fuck no.

Re:I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (2)

CanHasDIY (1672858) | about 10 months ago | (#45777233)

Quite possibly the dumbest thing I've ever heard. Do 17" laptops still exist?

Yup, my wife has a 17" Dell from maybe 2-3 years ago.

I find the full keyboard w/ 10-key awful damn handy.

Re:I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777239)

If they don't, I'm not quite sure what I'm typing on right now. It claims to be a Dell Latitude something or other. I also have a personal "laptop" with a 17" screen, that's an Asus M70m or such, but is a few years old by this point.

Re:I wish Apple would stop wasting time... (1)

jbolden (176878) | about 10 months ago | (#45777107)

They aren't going to. 17" macbook didn't sell well. There isn't the demand.

$3k (1)

serviscope_minor (664417) | about 10 months ago | (#45776933)

$3k for a quad core, 3.7GHz processor, 12G of RAM, a decent SSD and other gubbins.

I know that raw specs aren't everything (noise, is important), but hells bells that is not a lot of bang for the buck. Amazon says an i7 3.2GHz 16GB mac mini costs $1200. So, the Pro has substantially better graphics. But even so. This seems to be aimed at the niche of people who need a portable desktop. Which makes sense since Apple don't make a luggable, but it looks like they're still missing a workstation.

From other vendors, can get a dual socket Opteron workstation. Sure not as fast per core as a xeon, but 32 AMD 3.2 cores *totally* whump 4 3.7GHz opteron cores. Also, the AMD processors come with quad rather than triple channel memory. Being Opteron, it's also upgradable to 0.5TB of RAM.

IOW, this seems like a seriously weedy workstation.

Re: $3k (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777117)

It's a Xeon E5 Workstation CPU, not some consumer shit. Don't compare them. Quadcore != quadcore.
Same applies to the graphic cards.

Re: $3k (1)

NoImNotNineVolt (832851) | about 10 months ago | (#45777215)

Quadcore != quadcore

wat

CPU upgrade priceing a big ripoff (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45776941)

talking about $800+ over the cost of buying the chip on it's own and that is not counting the cost of the build in base cpu.

Memory seem to be not that bad but the base is only 3 of 4 channels.

at that price why no mouse / keyboard? (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45776959)

Come on apple do you really to save the $50 (high end estimate) on an 3K+ system?

Re:at that price why no mouse / keyboard? (1)

BasilBrush (643681) | about 10 months ago | (#45777063)

Because there's a variety of mice, trackpads and keyboards to chose from. So they are a configuration option, rather than bundling a fixed choice in the box.

Re:at that price why no mouse / keyboard? (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45777175)

no I was saying apple should give them out for FREE with an 3K system.

Re:at that price why no mouse / keyboard? (0)

SuperKendall (25149) | about 10 months ago | (#45777299)

no I was saying apple should give them out for FREE with an 3K system.

Why, so I can add them to the box of extra mice and keyboards?

Far better to let people use the solutions they already have and like than ship with some default that is just there to meet a checkbox list.

Expensive Garbage Can ? (1)

SpaceManFlip (2720507) | about 10 months ago | (#45776971)

Everybody has made fun of the garbage-can-like appearance. It does look pretty silly, but the design is innovative when you look at the innards. I guess if you want a really small desktop and you don't know about hard drive failure rates, then it could be an attractive choice.

Personally I don't like anything about it except for the dual-gpu support. I love the old Mac Pro / PowerMac G5 chassis series. Because I'm always like "fuck it, I've got room" when it comes to desktops and their largitude. I have a sweet hackintosh in a PowerMac G5 chassis that I custom-built and it's not as pretty inside but it can trounce several Mac Pro models in benchmarks while I paid less than half the price for it. And BTW when I say custom, I mean that Dremels and JB-weld were involved. It's fully ATX-motherboard-compliant now. I have room for 4 video cards and about 8 hard drives. I have 16GB quad-channel DDR3. It is a great case design for airflow and therefore overclockers.
Apple dropped the ball, when it comes to expandability, and that's what I liked about the Mac Pro design. Sad face.

Re:Expensive Garbage Can ? (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777167)

The saying from Tommy Boy goes "You can get a good look at a T-Bone by sticking your head up a bull's ass, but wouldn't you rather take the butcher's word for it?"

Dremels and JB weld? This is apple we're talking about here, dude. The butcher wants to feed you while you're wearing a blindfold.

Re:Expensive Garbage Can ? (2)

SuperKendall (25149) | about 10 months ago | (#45777315)

If you know about hard drive failure rates, the new design is an even better idea - putting large hard drives in external cases where it's easier to swap them out.

The internal storage is all very fast SSD, and doesn't really have the same level of failure rate as a spinning disk.

Apple's NeXT Mac Pro.... (1)

tekrat (242117) | about 10 months ago | (#45776991)

....Will look like a certain well-known Black Cube [netdna-cdn.com] , and come with a Magneto-Optical drive.

You will like it! We're Apple! (1)

Geste (527302) | about 10 months ago | (#45776995)

I mean, we're Apple!

apple was/is for (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777003)

people who are bad at math and/or can't build their own superior machine.

It exists as an tax on the ignorant.

Re: apple was/is for (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777197)

... and for those who just want to concentrate on their work (usually stuff not related to building and setting up computers) and not worrying about troubleshooting issues themselves, should they arise.

You PC fanbois don't get it (1, Troll)

Trashcan Romeo (2675341) | about 10 months ago | (#45777011)

So what if they have a better price/performance ratio? The Mac Pro is *round*. Round! You could lay it on it side, push it with your foot, and it wouldn't stop until it hit the far wall. How fucking cool is that? Let's see any of you fanbois try that with a PC. Heh... good luck.

Re:You PC fanbois don't get it (1)

koan (80826) | about 10 months ago | (#45777103)

Or you could buy a olive bucket shove a motherboard in it and call happy crappy.

MacWorld weren't that positive (4, Insightful)

fatphil (181876) | about 10 months ago | (#45777017)

He was quite explicit - if he had the money, he'd rather spend it on something else.

Looks gimmicky, seems massively over-priced. I'm sure there's a market for it...

Re:MacWorld weren't that positive (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777195)

Seems like the latest incarnation of the Cube. Actually, Apple's laptops seem to be going that way as well -- fewer features and capabilities, same or higher prices, because they think non-functional changes in form factor are worth the premium. Ives has a chance of severely hurting Apple's future unless someone steps up to reign him in.

Tailored for thick wallets, thick heads (0)

Reliable Windmill (2932227) | about 10 months ago | (#45777029)

They've made sure it's even more expensive to upgrade the new Mac Pro than the last one. If you have more money than sense, then this is the computer for you.

Re:Tailored for thick wallets, thick heads (1)

koan (80826) | about 10 months ago | (#45777095)

^...

Re:Tailored for thick wallets, thick heads (1)

BasilBrush (643681) | about 10 months ago | (#45777113)

The people that buy it will be people who do jobs that need this sort of power, and which pays enough for this to be a good option. These are creative professionals, and so are certainly not lacking in sense. Though they won't be lacking in money either.

Great news, guys! (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777075)

Get this, guys: I had sex with a vagina! It was AMAZING. You all should give it a try. I mean, c'mon! Just once, at least, okay? I know sticking your penis into a human female's vagina is weird, but, hey, it's DEFINITELY all it's cracked up to be. :D

Wow! That's hard to believe (1)

Anonymous Coward | about 10 months ago | (#45777081)

I can't believe magazine Mac World would give a positive review to a Mac.

I'd expect them to be promoting a similarly specced Ubuntu based machine.

If you're a pro (0)

koan (80826) | about 10 months ago | (#45777089)

Why buy Apple?
Over priced, limited upgrade options, and Adobe Première trumps Final cut, Apples music software is crap.

Why buy Apple?

Re:If you're a pro (1)

BasilBrush (643681) | about 10 months ago | (#45777227)

As regards professional music, it's Pro Tools all the way. Which is both Mac and PC.
And Adobe Premiere is both Mac or PC.

So your software arguments do nothing to eliminate the Mac Pro.

Advantages of the Mac Pro, which you cannot get on PC, is the possibility to use Final Cut and Motion, and the ability to use legal and non-hacked OSX.

and what happens when TB becomes firewire 2.0? (1)

Joe_Dragon (2206452) | about 10 months ago | (#45777111)

and what happens when TB becomes firewire 2.0?

3.5GHz quad core for $3000? Way overpriced. (1, Insightful)

Animats (122034) | about 10 months ago | (#45777185)

I was given $3000 to spend on a desktop Mac, I'd be hard-pressed to pick the entry-level Mac Pro instead of a 27-inch iMac with 3.5GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor, 32GB of RAM, a 3TB Fusion Drive, and an Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M GPU.

Unimpressive specs for the price. I'm writing this on a 3.2GHz 4-core Intel i5-4570 CPU, with an Nvidia GeForce GT 640. Running Linux. Cost under $1000. I could have ordered a machine with the components Apple is installing for a few hundred more. The CPU upgrade would cost $116 and the GPU upgrade about $225. The GTX 780M isn't even NVidia's top-of-the-line GPU; that's a mobile (for laptops) part, three or four steps down from the top of the line.

Load More Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?