Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

Review of 'MacHeads' Documentary

CmdrTaco posted more than 5 years ago | from the just-in-time-for-macworld-zomg-zomg dept.

Movies 277

An anonymous reader writes "Just prior to its premiere at MacWorld later this week, CNet has a review of MacHeads, the new documentary film covering the obsessive world of Apple fanboyism. MacHeads features commentary from original Apple employees, the self-confessed Apple-obsessed and girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users. Summed up by CNet: 'MacHeads is a superb film that will give Apple haters a few cheap laughs, and Apple fans a few cheap thrills. But it'll entertain both equally, while educating everybody else.'"

cancel ×

277 comments

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

macs suck (-1, Flamebait)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329211)

macs are for fags

I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (2, Funny)

elrous0 (869638) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329213)

...like my obsessive defense of Deep Space 9 as the best of the Trek series.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329353)

What the FUCK are you smoking?!

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (0, Offtopic)

hey! (33014) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329725)

Depends on what you mean by "best series". It had some of the best and some of the worst episodes. If you liked the kind of story arc format TNG moved into, it had much to offer.

The problem with DS9 is that Paramount had decided to structure the ST franchise as a cash cow, running two series at a time on overlapping lifetimes. This wasn't a problem in that DS9's different format provided more leeway for different kinds of stories, but once Voyager was in full swing, both series began to suffer from script problems. Both series continued to produce enough good shows for one series, and in some cases each series produced outstanding stories. But as time wore on the frequency of truly awful scripts began to increase; I don't think there was enough creative energy for two simultaneous shows.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (3, Insightful)

Fallingcow (213461) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330089)

I thought DS9 was the most consistent of the new Trek series, especially past season 1.

IMO, TNG had a much bigger "amazing episode followed by an unwatchable POS that doesn't even seem like the same show" problem. I think that DS9 generated fewer 5-out-of-5 excellent individual episodes, but also fewer 1-out-of-5ers. Still a few 5s, though, and loads of 4s.

The multi-episode and season-long story arcs are why it's my favorite.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (4, Funny)

jellomizer (103300) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329417)

Yea but they just coppied Babylon 5.
Think about it...
Based on a space station.
The head honcho of the station had a rank of commander then later on there was a captain.
Head Honcho(s) had some deep destiny that they needed to follow controlled by an alien race with supernatural powers who talked in confusing language that only became clear once the events have happened.
A secondary race of aliens who somehow have a more detailed knowledge of these super aliens.
War against a superior race who at first is considered indestructible and later on in the series killing them becomes a piece of cake.
Command of a ship that is brand new. Much smaller then the other ships and cannot be recognized as one of the good guys. But chalk full of shooting goodness. Now with some alien technology that makes it that much more devastating.

It is only the best Trek series because they stole everything from Babylon 5.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (1, Interesting)

commodore64_love (1445365) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329757)

>>>Think about it...

Also the creator of Babylon 5 *gave* the series Bible plus multiple scripts to Paramount in 1991. He made it extremely easy for Paramount to copy B5's design, characterizations, and plot.

No matter.

Both DS9 and B5 rank as my #1 favorite series. B5 has a slight edge with its "novel for tv" presentation, but DS9 has better standalone short stories (like "The Visitor"). I love them both.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (4, Interesting)

HadouKen24 (989446) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329875)

I think that DS9 was the best of the Treks for reasons which have nothing to do with the above.

The ethnocentrism and blind idealism of the Federation is brought into view. Though supposedly welcoming and accepting, it views races like the Ferengi with distrust and even disdain.

Religion is treated more directly and more honestly than in most television shows, period. Almost unimportant (except as an occasional plot device) in the other Treks, now questions of personal religious conviction are addressed. And religious extremism and religiously motivated violence as a result have to be dealt with.

The question of the legitimate limit of violence when under occupation is brought up--and we don't get much of an answer at all.

Potential consequences of genetic enhancement are not only considered, but humanized in the figure of an important character.

In general, DS9 manages to help us get a grip on contemporary problems and worries by putting them at a distance from us (and, to be fair, by oversimplifying and exaggerating them). In doing so, it becomes much more interesting.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (0, Offtopic)

Smidge207 (1278042) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329511)

You are wrong....Voyager was the best.

=Smidge=

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329535)

...like my obsessive defense of Deep Space 9 as the best of the Trek series.

Why don't you get a healthy obsession like the rest of us you deviant... breasts for example.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (1)

rickb928 (945187) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330099)

That is easily indulged in most ST series. Try getting your physical obsessions on in Battlestar Galactica (new version, please). There can be only one, and she's wearing more clothes as the series drags on. All others are just dumbed down to obscurity.

Then again, they could be making us work for it. Yeah, that's it, they aren't so easy on BG. Now Enterprise, that's just too damned easy. And most ST series, which never shyed away from the sensual.

Me? Enterprise was cleary the best series. We saw all the nastiness, and the failures. The Vulcans were indeed imperious, but much more overbearing so long as earth was stuck in Warp 5 hell, and no transporters. They underestimated us. Common error. And of course a captain with a dog? Priceless.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (1)

Dishevel (1105119) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330597)

So.

Aliens underestimating humans is a common error?

I think you may need your meds adjusted a bit.

Re:I prefer to stick to more healthy obsessions (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329919)

It was the best by a large margin but it still suffered from the problem that inherently it was still Star Trek.

Huh. (5, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329227)

girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users

They're probably ugly anyway.

Re:Huh. (1)

Chrisq (894406) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329259)

girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users

They're probably ugly anyway.

Now you can blame Microsoft for nnot getting laid too...

Re:Huh. (1)

Thanshin (1188877) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329315)

Now you can blame Microsoft for not getting laid too...

Now?

Re:Huh. (1, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329513)

Doesn't matter, all the Mac users are gay anyway. </troll>

c'mon, you knew it was going to be said.

p.s. i'm gay... and anonymous. *phhhhhbt* at mods!

Re:Huh. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329649)

Foolish little scared gay anonymous guy, I has your IP.

Re:Huh. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329961)

Here, have mine too.

Hmmm... (0)

bowl_of_petunias (1437029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329231)

"self-confessed Apple-obsessed and girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users"

Probably true... the odds of *ever* getting laid are not particularly good for os-obsessed humans.

~bowl_of_petunias~

ps- Speaking of not getting laid, anyone know a hot linux-obsessed lesbian?

Re:Hmmm... (2)

betterunixthanunix (980855) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329285)

Linux users don't have sex! I have documentary evidence of this:

http://xkcd.com/196/ [xkcd.com]

Re:Hmmm... (5, Funny)

bowl_of_petunias (1437029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329329)

They do too!

Well, I've heard rumors...

I'm pretty sure...

I can totally prove my point utilizing a clever cartoon and my powers of snarky wit! I just need to find a link...

click...

click...

clickity clack click...

Drat!

Oh well, at least I still have my pron.

Re:Hmmm... (2, Funny)

joaommp (685612) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329989)

Yes, they do get laid... they're just too humble to tell anyone...

Re:Hmmm... (1, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330139)

Well, either that or we're paying for it and just don't feel like bragging about booty we paid for.

Seriously, if you're THAT desperate to get laid and can't get it the normal way for whatever reason, then hookers work fine. Drop a few $$$ and if you go with escorts rather than a street walker you're probably going to be with a girl 10x better looking than you could have just randomly hooked up with anyways.

Re:Hmmm... (1)

joaommp (685612) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330467)

maybe the problem is that they find a girl that actually hooks up with a geek and want to keep her for themselves - possession generates envy :P

Re:Hmmm... (1)

Beyond_GoodandEvil (769135) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330585)

Drop a few $$$ and if you go with escorts rather than a street walker you're probably going to be with a girl 10x better looking than you could have just randomly hooked up with anyways.
Gov. Spitzer is that you?

Re:Hmmm... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329287)

anyone know a hot linux-obsessed lesbian?

Hmmm...let's do some quick back-of-the envelope calculation. Six billion people in the world, three billion women. Maybe 10% are "hot" (as opposed to cute, pretty, whatever, which would be a lower standard). That's 600M hot women. Say 5% are truly lesbian (as opposed to bi, bi-curious, etc), so 6M hot lesbians in the whole world. Let's say 50% use computers (I'm not sure about this number), and 1% of those use Linux.

There should be about 30,000 hot Linux-using lesbians in the world.

Re:Hmmm... (1)

sakdoctor (1087155) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329479)

30,000?

Someone should start a social networking site.

Re:Hmmm... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329495)

From TFS:

An anonymous reader writes... the self-confessed Apple-obsessed * and girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users

As the absence of the words "guys" at the asterisk above points out, the anonymous submitter clearly couldn't care about men. Hmmm...

Re:Hmmm... (1)

bowl_of_petunias (1437029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329533)

Or it's a copy & paste from the original post...

Re:Hmmm... (1)

krunk7 (748055) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329889)

Because everyone knows, no matter how obsessed a man becomes he'll still sleep with the enemy.

Re:Hmmm... (1)

Thanshin (1188877) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329541)

Around you 10% of women are hot?

Mr. Hefner? Is that you?

Re:Hmmm... (1)

bowl_of_petunias (1437029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329593)

And most of them are 40 :-)

Small market... though I'm willing to compromise on the "hot" part. Cute is great, too.

Re:Hmmm... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330155)

Crap, I knew I forgot something. Yeah, a reasonable age range takes it down to maybe 10,000, and I probably overestimated the number of computer users in the world.

But really, I've always found that people with hugely different interests are more interesting. I'm a (male) computer dork, and all my real girlfriends have been of the artist/poet/fashion designer persuasion. As long as they're intelligent and like good music, we're golden.

Re:Hmmm... (4, Funny)

Thanshin (1188877) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329299)

ps- Speaking of not getting laid, anyone know a hot linux-obsessed lesbian?

Yes, and she's looking for another one.

Wrong-O, Big Time (2, Funny)

BenEnglishAtHome (449670) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329463)

The os-obsessed person cited in the article as limiting her sex partner options was Violet Blue. Your comment that "the odds of *ever* getting laid are not particularly good for os-obsessed humans" is, in her case, so wrong it's beyond funny.

Violet Blue fans feel free to chime in here.

Re:Wrong-O, Big Time (1)

bowl_of_petunias (1437029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329685)

LOL

Oops, obviously I haven't seen the documentary!

Re:Wrong-O, Big Time (1)

Neoprofin (871029) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329791)

I had to wiki her, but the two points of note in it are both lawsuits.

Thumbs down to litigious Bay area sex bloggers.

Re:Wrong-O, Big Time (1, Informative)

MBGMorden (803437) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330171)

Violet Blue (or Noname Jane now as she was ordered to stop using the Violet Blue handle) is an oddball though. She has stated on numerous occasions that she won't have sex with her husband.

Still, cute gal. She's got the porn attitude while maintaining the girl next door look.

Re:Hmmm... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329659)

Actually yes, and she's Asian, too!

Re:Hmmm... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329911)

*raises hand*

Holy water? Garlic? (4, Funny)

Thanshin (1188877) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329255)

Other titles you may also enjoy:

- People who buy Nike shooes!
- Maserati: A noble car embiggens the smallest man.

Re:Holy water? Garlic? (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330473)

jokes on you motherfucker - you managed to misspell shoes.

"Trekkies" with a different context (5, Insightful)

CommandoCody (1154955) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329257)

More likely, "MacHeads is another cheap 'find a subculture and mock it' film that will pander to Apple haters, and bore or irritate Apple fans. It will broaden the minds of neither, and pass unnoticed by everyone else."

Re:"Trekkies" with a different context (3, Insightful)

rolfwind (528248) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329379)

More likely, "MacHeads is another cheap 'find a subculture and mock it' film that will pander to Apple haters, and bore or irritate Apple fans. It will broaden the minds of neither, and pass unnoticed by everyone else."

Yeah. What I find are more anti-whatevers, than pro-whatevers. People obsessing over what other people use. Some of the causes might be legitimate (marketshare concerns or they end up doing tech support for friends/relatives) and some are petty (obsessing how other people spend their money).

For the classic in OS satire, there is "The Unix Hater's Handbook":
http://www.icce.rug.nl/edu/ugh.pdf [icce.rug.nl]

It was pretty much the poke in the eye to unix users but the anti-foreword was written by Dennis Ritchie - but was just as scathing right back:) (This was when some users came from other systems, like Lisp Machines.) It's probably still relevant today, seeing as how OS with unix foundations are the only OS with marketshare outside Windows these days.

Re:"Trekkies" with a different context (2, Informative)

TheRaven64 (641858) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329437)

The Unix Hater's Handbook, by the way, is well worth anyone reading. Some of the comments are still valid today, and some now apply to a lot more systems than UNIX. Some, such as the X11 section, are largely obsolete (for example, many of the complaints about X11 were due to different, incompatible, X servers - now pretty much everyone uses X.org, even on Windows). A lot of the criticisms are still dead on, however, and are made even more sad by the fact that they are due to Free Software developers who never had access to systems that did things a better way (Lisp Machines, Multics, Burroughs Large Systems and so on), and so don't know any better.

Re:"Trekkies" with a different context (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329813)

AND, it's on /. front page. Grrrreat!

Re:"Trekkies" with a different context (1)

TheVelvetFlamebait (986083) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330379)

I'll keep that in mind when I create my documentary on people who pan movies they've never seen on the internet.

Fence Burns (4, Funny)

vjmurphy (190266) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329347)

"MacHeads is a superb film that will give Apple haters a few cheap laughs, and Apple fans a few cheap thrills. But it'll entertain both equally, while educating everybody else."

Wow, that's such a fence-sitting position that it's probably hard on their butts. It's as if they don't want to offend anyone. "While World War II was indeed a deadly conflict, it gave the Allies a few cheap laughs, and the Axis a few cheap thrills, but it'll kill both equally." I think I can use this for my upcoming performance review...

Re:Fence Burns (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329503)

I think I can use this for my upcoming performance review...

In that case I hope you didn't perform like the Axis, I would't wish unemployment on anybody in this economy.

Educating? (1, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329369)

"MacHeads is a superb film that will give Apple haters a few cheap laughs, and Apple fans a few cheap thrills. But it'll entertain both equally, while educating everybody else."

Hmmm ... at one time "educating" meant a bit more than sitting in front of the TV. That's what used to be called entertainment. "Education" was studying people like Plato and Shakespeare and Kant, gaining some culture and learning how to think.

As for "Apple haters" ... are there many? Some people do go overboard for the company, and that can be mildly irritating. But does anyone really "hate" them or the company? Personally, I like Apple's products but I don't give a damn for Apple as Apple. And, frankly, Apple computers pre the Steve Jobs return and the acquisition of the excellent Unix/NeXT technology weren't worth using. Terrible trash.

Really, what person with any sense cares about any brand as a brand?

Now a really amusing subject for a documentary might be "Windows haters". Everyone hates Windows. Even Windows users hate Windows. Mac users might love their machines too much, and the same goes for some Linux-heads. However no-one - but no one - loves a Windows box. People just tolerate them through gritted teeth.

Re:Educating? (2, Interesting)

vadim_t (324782) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329497)

Depends on what you mean by "apple hater".

For instance, I won't buy any product by Microsoft, Apple, Sony or Creative.

In my view, Apple is just as bad as Microsoft, they just lack the marketshare to pull off the truly nasty stuff, so I'm not going to give them any.

As far as "hating" them, not really. I don't spend the day trolling Apple forums and websites, or anything of the sort.

But even corporate behavior aside, the Apple fanboys are a turnoff. I want to feel like I'm making a good purchase, not buying an entry into a religious cult. I'm also completely uninterested in praises of Steve Jobs, Apple's UI design and such things. Though the same goes for all other companies.

Re:Educating? (-1, Flamebait)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329597)

Wow, aren't you very, very noble and stuff. And nothing can impress you! Neat.

Re:Educating? (1)

Eli Gottlieb (917758) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330285)

Except that Apple's UI and APIs are actually pretty damn good. I keep saying this, but someone ought to write free implementations for Linux...

Re:Educating? (-1, Troll)

El Lobo (994537) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329625)

I don't hate Apple, the company. I simply dislike all their products with all my heart. From the telettuby-cutie underpowered iphones, ipods, iEvereything to the oversimplified and full of annoyances OSX. And don't get me started about old MacOS.

I do hate how many people talk about Apple products like being heavenly perfection, as if that was the holy truth.

And yes, I do think that Apple is more monopolistic, closed and lawyer-happy than Google, Sun, Adobe and MS put together.

Re:Educating? (0, Troll)

db32 (862117) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330339)

I used to think Apple just equated to overpriced junk. Played around with a Mac Book Pro in the store and was impressed with design (Yes... Computers, ESPECIALLY laptops are more than just a processor, RAM, and a hard drive). I picked one up on refurb. I had long since converted to Linux for everything except the occasional game (like one every year or two) and this is what I have learned.

The OS does indeed make a huge difference. PC users mock Mac users for their "fanboy" stuff, but it is because PC users don't understand what it is like to have a computer that is actually nice to use. PC users will use their frame of reference of their experience with computers and think Mac users are just babbling nonsense. They go off on things like "Mac is an Intel PC now" and write it off as that.

You are 100% right. With the exception of the occasional MS zealot (that frequently has a rather weak or warped understanding of computing anyways) I have never met anyone that enjoyed Windows. At best they "like" Windows because of the games, which has nothing to do with Windows itself. People pretty much loathe Windows itself universally.

Linux users are a different variety. It appeals to the power user that likes to tinker. Desktop linux is definitely coming a long way, but it does not have the same polished UI that OS X has. There is certainly way more freedom under the hood, but that appeals to a relatively small group. Linux users tend to enjoy their linux desktops because they like to tinker. Distros tend to get chosen based on how much you must tinker to get everything working the way you want.

This leaves OS X. OS X has that nice unix underbelly these days so power users can get things like fink and macports and still have Aqua with their X11 stuff and so on and so forth. I keep hearing Windows users badmouth linux with "Windows just works" and after using OS X for about a year I do not think it means what they think it means. I work with computers... I don't want to have to go home and work on my damned computer. OS X has an interesting way of making unixy things terribly simple. Installing software...you click on the dmg file, drag the app to Applications, done. At the lower level, you just mounted a disk image, copied a foo.app folder that has a file in it that tells OS X to display it as a pretty icon instead of a folder, and your application is "installed". No silly registry BS, no complicated digging and wondering where the hell it put your files, etc. It is a joy to use it as a generic use computer. That is why Mac users advocate for Mac so much...it makes computers nice to use rather than a constant battle of bullshit like Windows.

That said I think OS X servers are kinda goofy, the major appeal to Apple is their nice hardware, superior design, and nice UI... In the server market where the box stays in a rack all day it pretty much kills any superior hardware/design stuff since you never see it, and the fancy UI on a server is a waste I think. All my servers that I am not forced to use Windows on are all linux. Linux is a joy to use as a server.

Good God, they're still around? (4, Insightful)

Phybersyk0 (513618) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329391)

I don't get this obsession. Back in the day I was a rabid (psychotic) Amiga fan/user. As I matured I realized something, IT'S JUST A COMPUTER GUYS. JUST ANOTHER TOOL. If people were this committed to, say hammers or forstner bits -- you'd think they were completely insane.

I'm also looking at you, the "yeah, but can it run LINUX" crowd. For fucks sake, people many of you are amongst the most intelligent human beings in the world, you need to be out there breeding instead of developing a goddamn zippo lighter simulator for your iPhone.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (2, Insightful)

jerep (794296) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329483)

I'm also looking at you, the "yeah, but can it run LINUX" crowd. For fucks sake, people many of you are amongst the most intelligent human beings in the world

Since when is the linux crowd the most intelligent human beings? I'm not against linux people or anything but I fail to see how smarter they are compared to any other kind of people. In my opinion they're just more knowledgeable in this one field.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329487)

"yeah, but can it run LINUX" is probably supposed to be taken lightly, like one of those things we call a joke. I highly doubt it means what you think it means.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329569)

Hammers totally own. Screwdrivers suck.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (2, Insightful)

Tranzistors (1180307) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329637)

Just another tool, eh?
Considering the fact that we wouldn't be able to do much of what we are doing now without any tools says something about how important they are. And really how much of a human are we with a stick at most?
These tools let us be human like and thus they become part of us.
Should we be obsessed? Of course not, by the virtue of the word 'obsessed', which has negative meaning.
Should we consider a computer *just* another tool? Perhaps, but we won't.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1)

Reality Master 101 (179095) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330401)

Considering the fact that we wouldn't be able to do much of what we are doing now without any tools says something about how important they are.

Sheesh. Just goes to show that people can take offense at anything.

The OP's point wasn't that tools are unimportant, his point was that emotional attachments to what label is on the tool is stupid. "Anyone who doesn't use the XYZ hammer with it's beeeaaauutiful claw design is a complete fool! Can't they see that it's superior, especially when I paid twice the price than your inferior ABC hammer? Never mind they use exactly the same steel with exactly the same materials in the handle, and even get those from the same Chinese manufacturer. MINE IS SUPERIOR BOW DOWN TO MY HAMMER OR I WILL KILL YOU."

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329661)

For fucks sake, people many of you are amongst the most intelligent human beings in the world, you need to be out there breeding

Unfortunately, the more intelligent people are the ones who realize that breeding is a stupid thing to do. It's the idiots who don't know any better.

What the intelligent should be doing is force sterilizing idiots. Then intelligent people can breed without contributing to the overpopulation of the earth.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (4, Insightful)

yttrstein (891553) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329677)

*were* among the most intelligent human beings in the world.

I think what you're not considering is the fact that you yourself have aged, and therefore your opinions and perceptions have changed as well. Most people mellow out of the "raging 20s" where everything seems like a social injustice, even if it's some guy in a coffee shop using an OS that they think "sucks".

It seems to me that it's a problem of relativity. The people you seem to be referencing are very likely right around the same age you were (and I was) when we were ferocious about such things. I was an Amiga person too, and then a rabid Mac owner, then an elite NeXT user, then a smartass Linux user, but eventually I decided, just like you, that it really is just a computer and that there are far more important things to worry about and spend time dealing with.

And that's why I use OS X.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1, Insightful)

knarf (34928) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330131)

I was with you all through your comment... just until the last line:

And that's why I use OS X.

It seems to me you have not yet left the state you described in the previous paragraphs... Maybe in age, but certainly not in attitude... If you had that last line just would not be there. Who cares what OS you use? If it works for you, fine. If it doesn't use something else.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (2, Funny)

spruce (454842) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329717)

I'd never sleep with anyone who uses forstner bits!

Re:Good God, they're still around? (2, Insightful)

value_added (719364) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330145)

As I matured I realized something, IT'S JUST A COMPUTER GUYS. JUST ANOTHER TOOL.

Expect to turn 30 and realise that NOT ALL TOOLS ARE ALIKE. You'll laugh more at yourself than others for once thinking that some of them even belonged in the same conversation.

And if you had the foresight to develop some skills along the way and nurtured your intellectual curiousity, you'll insist on making your own tools by the time you're fourty, an advocating the same to people on Slashdot who are oblivious to the difference.

When you turn 50, you'll insist that all tools you use are either of your own making, or resemble those you used at a formative stage in your life. Incidentally, that's about the same time you prefer hardware stores to other forms of social interaction where you spend considerable time evaluating the relative merits of different manufacturers of hammers and forstner bits. It's all the same time you end up pissing off the wife by buying a sports car and spend even more time in the garage with your tools.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330229)

I don't get this obsession. Back in the day I was a rabid (psychotic) Amiga fan/user

Why is it so hard to get? They are what you used to be. People doesn't mature at the same rate, or even at all in some cases.

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1)

MBGMorden (803437) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330265)

I don't get this obsession. Back in the day I was a rabid (psychotic) Amiga fan/user. As I matured I realized something, IT'S JUST A COMPUTER GUYS. JUST ANOTHER TOOL. If people were this committed to, say hammers or forstner bits -- you'd think they were completely insane.

Might your lack of "patriotism" though be just a *little* influenced by the fact that your choice OS died a horrible death long ago? I'm sure if Apple went out of business today in 10 years all the Macheads would either have to adopt a "Meh, it wasn't that great anyways." position or consign themselves to the nuthouse. It's just a survival skill :).

(For what it's worth, I use Mac, Windows, and Linux all pretty extensively, so I'm not too biased in the modern world. Sadly I never got the chance to use an Amiga.)

Re:Good God, they're still around? (1)

Hatta (162192) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330459)

If people were this committed to, say hammers or forstner bits -- you'd think they were completely insane.

But if people had a strong opinion as to the utility of a regular drill vs. a hole hawg [steve-parker.org] , that's pretty reasonable.

Just take screenshots of Slashdot (1, Insightful)

Gothmolly (148874) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329431)

Just screenshot all the Apple articles on Slashdot, and you'll see fanboyism and corporate pimping at its finest.

This is nothing new. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329441)

"and girls who claim they'll never sleep with Windows users"

This is nothing new...it's been happening to Linux users forever.

Re:This is nothing new. (1)

clam666 (1178429) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330001)

We're supposed to be sleeping with them? I thought we were supposed to cower and run away from their cooties.

Fanboys (4, Informative)

nasor (690345) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329529)

I have a lot of Apple fanboy friends, and they finally convinced me to spend the extra money for a macbook pro when it came time to buy a new laptop. So far I've been seriously underwhelmed. Contrary to the claims of virtually every Apple user I know, my new laptop with OS X doesn't appear to be any more stable than my old Windows XP laptop. It still periodically locks up for no apparent reason, which I can only solve by making it force-quit applications. It still sometimes slows down for no apparent reason (presumably because something is hogging resources). Also, a few weeks ago one of the updates killed my laptop's display somehow and I had to plug it into an external monitor to fix it - which was a huge pain in the ass, because for some inexplicable reason the macbook pro doesn't have a standard VGA port for connecting to external monitors, AND Apple didn't bother to include the necessary adapters with the laptop. Maybe the update was a ploy to see how many people they could force to buy $16 adapters?

Overall I'm still enjoying my laptop, but I'm astounded that so many people basically lied to me with claims of how perfectly stable and wonderful macs are. I find it very difficult to believe that I'm the only one who has to force-quit applications or deal with inexplicable slowdowns. Surely all these fanboys are having the same sorts of problems. So why can't they just admit it? Why do they have to insist that everything is perfect?

Re:Fanboys (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329619)

I have a lot of Apple fanboy friends, and they finally convinced me to spend the extra money for a macbook pro when it came time to buy a new laptop. So far I've been seriously underwhelmed. Contrary to the claims of virtually every Apple user I know, my new laptop with OS X doesn't appear to be any more stable than my old Windows XP laptop. It still periodically locks up for no apparent reason, which I can only solve by making it force-quit applications. It still sometimes slows down for no apparent reason (presumably because something is hogging resources). Also, a few weeks ago one of the updates killed my laptop's display somehow and I had to plug it into an external monitor to fix it - which was a huge pain in the ass, because for some inexplicable reason the macbook pro doesn't have a standard VGA port for connecting to external monitors, AND Apple didn't bother to include the necessary adapters with the laptop. Maybe the update was a ploy to see how many people they could force to buy $16 adapters?

Overall I'm still enjoying my laptop, but I'm astounded that so many people basically lied to me with claims of how perfectly stable and wonderful macs are. I find it very difficult to believe that I'm the only one who has to force-quit applications or deal with inexplicable slowdowns. Surely all these fanboys are having the same sorts of problems. So why can't they just admit it? Why do they have to insist that everything is perfect?

Why spend the money on a MB Pro. The regular MB is pretty good. Killed your display. Umm apparently you didn't upgrade your firmware. Since that was a Slashdot article a few weeks ago.

I have had a MB for a year and a half. Never liked and never used a Mac before. Used Windows XP and Ubuntu. I must say I impressed. I have two toddlers and that think gets beat up all the time. Still keeps ticking.

Performs pretty well using Parallels and XP. I guess to each their own, but in my exp. professionally over a decade they are generally worth the money in the time I save.

Re:Fanboys (5, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329639)

Er... if you're able to force-quit applications, then the operating system hasn't locked up. The operating system is working fine, and the program in question has locked up. Even Apple can't save you from poorly written applications. (although your complaint is perfectly valid if the apps you're seeing lock up were written by Apple)

Re:Fanboys (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329729)

I use a windows pc for most business stuff because everybody else does and it isn't a big deal to send documents back and forth.

I've had it for 5 years now and added some memory once, which took about 5 minutes.

It still works fine.

I have a mac to do video editing, and it hasn't given me any problems either.

When I want to do one thing, I choose one tool. When I want to do the other, I choose the other.

Can somebody please explain to me why people get so tied up in discussing this for more than fifteen seconds?

Re:Fanboys (1)

jeffasselin (566598) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329995)

Exactly, and I can't understand it either.

I always tell my customers: a computer is a tool, and you should use the appropriate tool to do the job. Run business apps on a Windows PC, do image, DTP, video editing on a Mac. Use UNIX/Linux for servers and embedded devices.

Where it is more murky is for personal home use, and I tend to recommend Macs because they are more resilient to the virus and malware plague.

Re:Fanboys (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329915)

Sounds like you bought the Vista Ultimate Leopard to Drive User Back to Windows 7 edition.

Sorry, you should have bought the other OS.

Re:Fanboys (1)

captnjameskirk (599714) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329933)

"inexplicable"... You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

Re:Fanboys (1)

nasor (690345) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330085)

The slowdowns are "inexplicable" in the sense that although I know they are caused by programs hogging resources, I have no idea which programs/processes/whatever are doing it or why they are doing it.

Re:Fanboys (4, Interesting)

gad_zuki! (70830) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330161)

Im convinced that most people who talk about OSX being superior are windows users who have built up some kind of weirdo OSX fetish fantasy. At my old job I supported several OSX machines and they were as much trouble as anything else. I loved sitting there watching the spinning rainbow do its thing for no reason and trying to navigate to the command line to run top while it was running so slow. There really should be a hotkey to top or a GUI-based task manager equivalent.

Apple does a good job of forcing a lot of features into its OS but that usually translates into a slow experience, especially coming from XP on an modern machine.

As far as the lying goes, well, exaggeration is human nature. Its really your job to filter out the BS. This doesnt just apply to computers, but to everything in life.

Re:Fanboys (1)

Savage-Rabbit (308260) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330349)

spinning rainbow

Spinning beach-ball of doom.

Re:Fanboys (2, Informative)

je ne sais quoi (987177) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330197)

I don't know why I'm doing this, because you can almost never figure out what is going on from these kinds of stories but I feel I need to at least try and help you. :) So, did you install any of the "Application Enhancer" or other kernel hacks? If you did, there's your problem, they break with ever upgrade and have been known to cause the system to become unstable. Next, try reseting the PRAM [apple.com] and the PMU [apple.com] . If that doesn't help, try keeping your activity monitor open and see what applications are hogging the resources and see if there's one in particular or something else. Also, you probably should have 1 GB of memory, memory is so cheap that it's worth avoiding any possible memory issues (just don't buy your memory from Apple, they rip you off).

Overall I'm still enjoying my laptop, but I'm astounded that so many people basically lied to me with claims of how perfectly stable and wonderful macs are.

Often, they are. The key word there is often. Sometimes they're not. No computer is perfect, and I suppose that your mac friends were overselling their computers and gave you unrealistic expectations. Yes, Apple computers cost more, and whether that cost is worth it depends on your individual priotities, but they have problems sometimes just like every other computer. I find they have few enough problems to keep me coming back. To give you an indication, I've owned or used macs for about 11 years now and I've never once had a software update cause a problem on any of my computers. Not once. The record for my current desktop uptime is 112 days, and then I only had to reboot to install a security update. I've had three mac laptops, my Lombard powerbook was a handme down and we retired it after 5 years. My Ti powerbook lasted 4 years before a logic board failure caused me to replace it. My current Al macbook pro is running strong after three years and certainly runs better than newer "Vista-ready" laptops that ended up not really having the resources to run Vista well, but I have to say that XP SP2 is probably about as stable as OS X at this point.

Re:Fanboys (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330249)

About 8 months ago my SO's computer(a dell) died. Since then they've been using another mac I had on hand. I know the system is up to date and should work flawlessly(or as flawlessly as a computer can). Despite this, side by side the mac I use suffers almost no problems and hers probably has to force quit an application once or twice a week. I honestly don't know why this difference exists and I can't reproduce the errors she gets.

Basically, your mac using friends may not be lying. They may simply not have as many problems as you do.

Re:Fanboys (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330497)

Totally agree - I have a Macbook pro, which is mediocre: no better than my previous PC, and a lot heavier. I now run windows on it most of the time, which it does...okay. It's not a horrible machine, but I'd happily swap it for a PC. I get so sick of Macheads ranting about how perfect their machines are -- it seems to fulfill some sort of emotional need for them: to express how much cooler and smarter they are than the common horde. Fine, but the actual kit doesn't justify the raving.

Well there's three reasons (4, Interesting)

Sycraft-fu (314770) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330513)

1) People who have crap hardware. A number of people I know who got a Mac and find it to be much better find that mostly because they had a really bad PC. It was a cheapie and slow right when it came out, never mind the 5+ years later when this is. Also means they were running a rather outdated OS. So it isn't a surprise that a massive hardware + software upgrade gives a much better experience.

2) People who have an extremely broken system. Their system is full of crapware and breaks basically all the time. Software doesn't install, etc. They are finding it a major improvement because it was effectively a wipe/reinstall.

However by far the most common

3) They are lying to themselves. Seen this time and time again. They want/need to believe that this change is 100% for the better, so they tell themselves there are no problems. My best anecdote for this is from when I was in university, back before OS-X. I was in a friend's dorm room and his roommate and I were discussing computers. He had a Mac. He was telling me that the thing he liked was that "Macs never crash." As he was talking and noodling around, his system bombed. You know, the old bomb error. He clicked the restart and continued on. I interrupted him saying "Wait, right there! Your system crashed!" He then argued that no, it wasn't a crash like Windows does and so on. He was just lying to himself. He'd convinced himself that his system just didn't have problems like Windows did.

So that's the biggest reason they won't admit it: They really don't acknowledge that they are having problems. They lie to themselves, which then leads them to mislead you.

The truth of the matter is no consumer computer is perfect, and none likely ever will be. No matter what your OS, when you have an environment as complex and uncontrolled as one where people can install whatever they like, problems WILL happen. Certainly some OSes will have less problems, but anyone who tells you there's no problems is full of it.

The Mac has jumped the shark... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329557)

... how do I know? I'm using one. It seems that anytime I pick up something and start using it the cool completely rubs off of it. Look at what happened when I started using Perl and then a few years later finally picked up Java. So I just picked up Objective-C development... guess all the cool will drain out of that now too...

Machead girls not sleeping with Windows guys? (1)

The Cydonian (603441) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329567)

As a MS developer with a journalist girlfriend who runs Linux on her Asus EEE PC, I fart in their general direction. ;-)

</gloats>

Re:Machead girls not sleeping with Windows guys? (1)

pebs (654334) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329721)

As a Mac user who sleeps with a different hot Mac chick every week, I fart in the direction of all Windows users. I also use Linux (just about any UNIX/UNIX-like I'm up to using), but that doesn't get me laid like the little Apple that lights up on my laptop does.

Re:Machead girls not sleeping with Windows guys? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26330123)

I don't know if I'd want to sleep with the kind of chicks that all it takes to impress them is a logo...

Re:Machead girls not sleeping with Windows guys? (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 5 years ago | (#26329817)

we don't really need to know about your flatophilic sex life, brah

From the promotions page.... (1)

SIR_Taco (467460) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329609)

Chimp65 productions is proud to anounce...

a webpage that looks like crap in any resolution over 800x600!

Fans and haters (5, Funny)

Asgerix (1035824) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329623)

'MacHeads is a superb film that will give Apple haters a few cheap laughs, and Apple fans a few cheap thrills. But it'll entertain both equally, while educating everybody else'

I like this quote. It basically says that if you're not a fan and not a hater, it's because you're not educated properly!

'MacHeads' is weak... (1)

sugarman (33437) | more than 5 years ago | (#26329971)

We need a better name for Apple fanboys:

Mac-aroons?

Re:'MacHeads' is weak... (1)

clam666 (1178429) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330081)

Or the "I'm-upper-middle-class-and-can-afford-proprietary-hardware-and-my-new-volkswagen-with-a-flower-holder-in-the-dash-and-expouse-my-northern-california-peace-movement-and-oh-my-god-ponies-and-IPhones-and"-heads.

No wait, that's a flame.

But a flame, by any other name, would smell like an apple.

Re:'MacHeads' is weak... (1)

santiagoanders (1357681) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330457)

Latin for apple: malum.
Plural form: mala.
Hence: malaphiliac is lover of apples.

It is interesting to note that mala is also the Latin plural form of evil.

Re:'MacHeads' is weak... (1)

Hatta (162192) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330537)

Apple turnovers?

Next, on the Sci-fi Channel (1)

joaommp (685612) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330003)

the Tuxheads.

I only sleep with Windows users (5, Funny)

Fear the Clam (230933) | more than 5 years ago | (#26330371)

They're used to lousy performance.
No mater how bad the sex is, I just promise that next time it's going to be better than ever and they believe me.
If I "crash" while they're trying to, y'know, get things done, it's no big deal.
They're used to getting boned in the ass.

Load More Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?