Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

We are sorry to see you leave - Beta is different and we value the time you took to try it out. Before you decide to go, please take a look at some value-adds for Beta and learn more about it. Thank you for reading Slashdot, and for making the site better!

Apple 12-inch PowerBook G4 Review

timothy posted more than 11 years ago | from the fits-under-a-kilt dept.

Portables (Apple) 55

Dave_B writes "Tony Smith of El Reg gives his verdict after a month with Apple's 12-inch Powerbook." His overall impression was good, but there are some words of caution in here regarding battery life and heat, so read before buying one ;)

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

A Developer's Perspective of the 12" PB (5, Informative)

TomSawyer (100674) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638323)

O'Reilly's Mac Dev Center also put out a review here. [macdevcenter.com]

Heat Issues (5, Informative)

xdfgf (460453) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638362)

There is a thread [infopop.net] on Ars where the author checked the temp of his 12in PB against a 12in iBook. The results are a little disapointing...

PS. There is a large set of images in the thread that could bog down 56k'rs

It's true. (1)

Znonymous Coward (615009) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638371)

I saw one of these at Comp USA. It's a nice laptop, but it gets hotter than hell after an hour (or so) of operation.

Maybe the PPC 970 will offer reduced heat output.

No, the 970 produces more heat! (4, Informative)

edmundv (457386) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640019)

Znonymous Coward wrote:

Maybe the PPC 970 will offer reduced heat output.

Nope. The new IBM PowerPC 970 will actually produce more heat then the current G4 processor from Motorola.

Luckily Motorola recently anounced a new low power version of the G4 at around 1 GHz. If this new chip ends up in the 12" PowerBook it will be a lot nicer machine.

Re:No, the 970 produces more heat! (1)

xdfgf (460453) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640979)

The 7457 [motorola.com] is a cool looking chip for the PBs. It probably will end up in the 15" and 12" with the PPC 970 at 1.1v in the 17". The larger interior of the 17 would allow better heat dissipation.

The really interesting chip coming out of Moto next is the 7457-RM [berkeley.edu] sometime next year. Its a G4 with a 200mhz bus on die Memory Controller and some other neat tidbits. Like all future Moto products there is some leaked info out there but not enough to really get much use..

Re:It's true. (2, Informative)

Frodo2002 (595920) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640885)

Sorry to say it, but RTFA. The heat is coming from the hard drive, not the CPU.

more interestingly - software criticisms (4, Interesting)

hype7 (239530) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638398)

was the reg's comments on the software, which I found from personal experience to be particularly pertinent.

First off; bluetooth needs to be simplified. The current method of doing it is confusing and unclear.

Next; same goes for the airport software and splitting up between authentication and encryption. The way apple uses the "internet connect" application in tandem with the network system pref is something that should be addressed.

The battery conditioning issue; Apple doesn't really provide users with any clear and obvious documentation on it.

Finally; CDRWs needs the Disk Utility app. What a joke! It should all be able to be done from within the Finder.

Hopefully these will get addressed in Panther...

-- james

Re:more interestingly - software criticisms (2, Informative)

Schart (587279) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638574)

...CDRWs needs the Disk Utility app. What a joke! It should all be able to be done from within the Finder.
Hmm, strange. I'm assuming you are implying that the Disk Utility is necessary to erase a CDRW. I don't re-write a lot of discs but I'm about 90% sure (can't verify right now, no burner here at work) that there is an "Erase Disc" contextual menu item if you Right/Control-click on a CDRW in the finder. I believe it shows up in the same place as the "Burn Disc" item would be if the disc has yet to be burned. Makes sense to me.

I'll check this out when I go home for work if I can find a CDRW. I'll even admit to stupidity if I'm wrong!

Re:more interestingly - software criticisms (1)

Draoi (99421) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638694)

I'll check this out when I go home for work if I can find a CDRW. I'll even admit to stupidity if I'm wrong!

Oops! It doesn't work, although the 'burn disk' option is there. It'd make sense if it was implemented ....

Re:more interestingly - software criticisms (2, Interesting)

Schart (587279) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639405)

Bah, indeed you are correct. I guess I'm having hold-over memories from OS 9.

I hereby admit to being 100% wrong.

D'oh!

Now I have a huge headache? (1)

FredFnord (635797) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641330)

So, one of you says, 'You need disk util to erase CD-RW disks'. The other says, 'No, you just right click on the CD-RW and select 'erase disk''.

Then the first one says, 'Oops, you're right.'
And the second says, 'Oops, I'm wrong.'

I don't have a CD-RW drive that works, so I'm beggin' ya, please, tell me who is actually right?

-fred

Re:Now I have a huge headache? (1)

Schart (587279) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641954)

Then the first one says, 'Oops, you're right.'
And the second says, 'Oops, I'm wrong.'
Correction, it should read like this:
Then the first one says, 'Oops, you're wrong.'
And the first one (moi) says, 'Oops, you're right, I am wrong.'
So, to recap:

One dude said you need Disk Utility to erase CD-RWs.
Another dude (me) said he wasn't sure but he thought you could right-click to do that and that he (me) would check for sure at lunch time.
A third dude said that the second dude (in this case, me) was mistaken.
The second dude (again, me) came back to bravely yet shamefully post that he (me [is that getting old yet?]) was wrong and that the third dude -- and by extension the first dude -- was right:

You DO have to use Disk Utility to erase CD-RWs. Fire up Help Center and search for "erase cdrw" and select the second hit to see for yourself.

Hope this clears things up.

Re:more interestingly - software criticisms (4, Insightful)

tbmaddux (145207) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639094)

The battery conditioning issue; Apple doesn't really provide users with any clear and obvious documentation on it.

Finally; CDRWs needs the Disk Utility app.

A little clarification: you need either Disk Utility or Disk Copy to erase a CD-RW. Using Disk Copy is more convenient because at least it doesn't prompt you to authenticate with an admin password just to erase a CD-RW. But you're right, doing all this in the Finder would be much better.

I haven't noticed any need for battery conditioning in the PowerBooks and iBooks I use. I suspect the reviewer is getting under 5 hours of life not because of the battery "condition" but because he doesn't have Energy Saver configured for maximum battery life (backlight/brightness turned way down, sleep in under 5 minutes, turn off monitor in less time than that, spin down the disk), and is probably leaving Airport turned on as well. Apple is careful (like anyone making advertising claims) to state that their battery life is up to X hours on all their portables. That's a maximum, not an average or a typical value.

Buying one.. (2, Interesting)

seann (307009) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638468)

I've set a date of May 28th to buy a 12" Powerbook. I wouldn't mind at all a 17" version, and I'd get the 15" version if it used DDR ram. Anyone justify getting the 15" version spite of the lack of DDR/Airport Extreme? Airport Extreme is kewl, but I probably won't use the G side of it outside of work, and I probably won't even use it then.

Re:Buying one.. (4, Informative)

Steve Cowan (525271) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638685)

A single-processor G4 machine gains little, if any speed by using DDR memory, so at present that should not be a deciding factor for you.

The 15" Ti book does accomodate more memory and has a PC card slot, but it is getting a little long in the tooth now that the newer aluminum enclosures seem to be preferred by the mobile Mac community. (The 15" Titanium PB has a painted covering which tends to flake or chip off after a while).

If you like the smaller footprint and can deal with the single RAM slot, go with the 12", it's a great laptop. If you need a bigger screen and don't want/can't afford the "lunch tray" 17-inch, you might do well to wait and see if the rumors are true: a revised 15" model is reported to be in the pipes, which will have a larger (15.4") display, an aluminum enclosure, DDR, and airport extreme. This is, of course, speculation.

Personally I'm still jazzed with my virtually flawless 500 MHz iBook (G3), and will be for some time.

Re:Buying one.. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5639210)

There is no reason to get the 12" or 17" PB just for DDR RAM either. The G4 cannot work with DDR memory thus a controller chip is placed on the motherboard to bottle neck the RAM's performance.

The 15" is might sexy due to its LCD.

Re:Buying one.. (2, Insightful)

Alan Partridge (516639) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640078)

that post makes no sense whatsoever. The G4 can't use the full bandwidth of the DDR RAM, but the other components that access the RAM can MORE FULLY saturate the RAMs bandwidth thanks to the new "controller chip". Either way, the G4 only has 256KB of L3 cache where the iBook's G3 has 512KB - and that's the main reason why the iBook is faster.

Re:Buying one.. (0)

andrewski (113600) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641775)

Huh?
That only applies to the small G4. My old TiG4 666 DVI will smoke any iBook around. Besides, 1024x768? Bleargh! They need to up the reso to something like 1152 x 854.

Also, I doubt that your iBook is faster simply because of the cache issue. You also lack the vector unit. When encoding MP3's, watching DIVX movies, playing Quake3, listening to iTunes, or using many many applications including the Finder and Photoshop, for two, you are lacking the vector unit. Again, my old 666 could beat any iBook ever made at these tasks. Many parts of the OS itself have been, or are becoming, vectorized themselves so with each subsequent release of OS X I can expect to see a noticeable speed increase just like I got from 10.1 to 10.2. A speed increase that iBook owners will likely not be taking advantage of.

Re:Buying one.. (1)

Alan Partridge (516639) | more than 11 years ago | (#5643816)

I don't own an iBook - but why not do some tests for yourself and see whether the 867Mhz G4 beats the 800Mhz G3 - youm may be surprised at the results. As far as MP3 ripping is concerned - your Altivec advantage is squandered by the PowerBook coz of it's slow reading drive. The Shara G3 is a very nice chip, Apple has been holding it back for too long, and it's the Apple portable users who are suffering.

Re:Buying one.. (3, Interesting)

WasterDave (20047) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640608)

Think really hard about buying an iBook instead. I had the order in for a 12" PowerBook and changed it to be an iBook. Pretty glad I did.

Differences?

* Faster, ish [barefeats.com]
* Possibly a better screen, the iBook one is less than spectacular. Look at them side by side.
* iBook keys scratch the screen in transit. This is fucking annoying. Look to see if the PB does it.
* Combo drives, super drives blah de blah de blah doesn't bother me. I have a desktop machine for CD burning and a playstation to play DVD's.
* The mobility radeon in the iBook is quite possibly the better chip, but the PB can screen span. The iBook can screen span too but you need to hack the bios :(
* Price. Oh yes. Go work out how many gameboy SP's you can buy with the money you save from getting an iBook.

Dave

Re:Buying one.. (1)

WasterDave (20047) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640995)

Correction, thanks to another poster I discovered that you can calibrate iBook screens properly [versiontracker.com] and now it looks a shitload better. Sweet :)

Dave

Good review, some small nits to pick. (4, Interesting)

American AC in Paris (230456) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638532)

I recently switched to one of these puppies, and their review is pretty much spot-on. It's one sweet machine. I take some issue with their characterization of the memory expansion limit, yes, it's only one slot, but as they note, it'll hold up to 4GB of RAM once the chips come out. That ain't bad for a laptop, and it makes it hard for me to hold the solitary expansion slot against Apple. It is, after all, a hella-small laptop we're talking about, here.

Second,while the machine does get "hot", I've gotta say, from a switcher's perspective, it isn't really -hot- hot. It's a pleasant wrist-warming feature compared to some of the scalders I've worked with on the PC side. On the downside, I can no longer locate my laptop by following the drone of the cooling fans.

Re:Good review, some small nits to pick. (3, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5639451)

Very true. I have a 12" powerbook myself and I find the comments about it getting very hot after a few hours of work quite misleading. I've kept it up and running on AC for days without any noticable heat at all, as long as all i was doing was some light X windows work, web browsing, email and proteus type stuff.

I find it can get quite hot if (and I'm really not sure why) I plug it into an external display and do some serious dev work. I'll put a 17" or 19" monitor just above my screen (since the PB can put the LCD to an insanely low angle) and I can get a great effect were I can tilt my head slightly downward and use the 12" screen for typing, and still use the built in keyboard. Weird thing, i'll get about 5 or 6 ssh terminals going between the 2 windows, and the computer will get so hot the fan actually turns on (a rare occurance) and won't turn off (because it isn't getting much cooler, not because the fan isn't working). I find if I close a few of the windows and just go back to light usage (even with the external display) it cools right down in a minute or three.

Oh well, those are my experiences. Make of them what you will.

Re:Good review, some small nits to pick. (1)

tupps (43964) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641168)

You don't have transparency turned on do you? You are probably pushing the 3D chip on the machine. Jaguar has Quartz Extreme which puts the calculations for things like transparencies onto the 3D chip and therefore you get an increase in temp.

Re:Good review, some small nits to pick. (1)

PhunkySchtuff (208108) | more than 11 years ago | (#5643544)

Sorry to burst your bubble regarding RAM capacity, but the 12" PowerBook will not accept anything bigger than a 512MB SO DIMM.
Apple, in their developer notes, acknowledge that there will be SO DIMMs larger than 512MB however the RAM controller in the 12" PowerBook won't take them.

Re:Good review, some small nits to pick. (1)

fhammond (126717) | more than 11 years ago | (#5643759)

That's not correct. I've seen a 12" PB with a 1GB DIMM in the slot. They're very expensive right now (about $600, if I remember correctly) but they do work with the 12" PB.

fh

iBooks, PBs, and Battery Life (4, Informative)

Red_Winestain (243346) | more than 11 years ago | (#5638547)

I've used both an iBook (500 MHz G3) and a TiBook (800 MHz G4) with various versions of Mac OS X 10.1.x and 10.2.x. I'm currently using the TiBook about 8 hours per day at work.

The major preventable causes of battery drain are:

  • Airport card on when not necessary
  • Screen brightness high
  • Not adjusting energy saver properly
  • Modem off
  • OS 9 environment running
I can routinely get 3.5-4 hours with relatively normal usage (compile, crash, debug, etc) if I do the above. If I don't do the above, then battery life drops substantially.

I also used top to see which applications are big CPU cycle eaters.

As for heat, I recommend any of the various stands that elevate the TiBook to an angle and allows air to flow more freely underneath.

Re:iBooks, PBs, and Battery Life (1)

ghastard (460282) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639922)

The major preventable causes of battery drain are:
Airport card on when not necessary
Screen brightness high
Not adjusting energy saver properly
Modem off
OS 9 environment running
Can someone explain to me how not having the modem on wastes batteries? I can't figure this one out. Does it waste CPU cycles looking for the modem?

Re:iBooks, PBs, and Battery Life (4, Informative)

jo_ham (604554) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640770)

The modem is a separate module attached to the logic board and even if it's not operating, it is supplied with power.

The logic board shuts off the audio circuits and and the HD to preserve power, but not the modem.

Presumably, disabling it in network prefs so it doesn't appear in the drop down list will shut it off.

I would unmount any firewire drives or usb devices that were bus powered when I wasn't using them too.

my very cheap TiBook stand (1)

Col Bat Guano (633857) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641049)

To increase airflow (and to make it a touch more ergonomic) i use a plastic intray, with a book wedged underneath it.

This provides an angled surface for the TiBook to sit on and
it raises it up to a better height.

I use an external keyboard and mouse of course.

Airport and Battery Life (1)

EricHsu (578881) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641087)

I follow all the five listed hints except for turning off my modem. How exactly do you do that?

With the other four and reduced CPU usage I get around 3 hours on a 1 GHz TiBook. This is noticeably better than my 500MHz TiBook, by the way, which usually hit the wall at 2 hours and a bit.

On turning off Airport:There's an interesting thread [macosxhints.com] at macosxhints.com where there is disagreement about it. One person claims:

This doesn't actually work. I've spoken with support techs, and the airport card never actually gets turned off. The menu extra does disable the network interface, but the hardware is not ever powered off unless you remove it. I suppose this is part of the kernel extension and why the Airport Extreme hacks to work with other cards have problems when you remove the 802.11g cards.

So, your mileage may vary. - Eric

HAHAH April fool! (-1, Flamebait)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5638971)

I read the review, Macs being useful... that's the most hilarious april fool joke yet. Good job taco!

10 posts (-1, Offtopic)

Znonymous Coward (615009) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639030)

And still no sight of the Father Pudge 'O Day troll. April fools must be a holiday for Trolls.

Battery (2, Interesting)

lml (639341) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639185)

He says that calibrating the battery a second time results in a shorter battery life. Well, Apple modified a Knowledge Base document some days ago saying that the battery should be recalibrated every couple of months. It's called "PowerBook G4 and iBook: How to Calibrate a New Battery for Best Performance", search for it at support.apple.com.

I can say that the battery is pretty weird, mine went from 3 hours and something in the first weeks to 2h30 now, and yes, I have the same Energy Saver Settings. Only thing that changed is that I now have 640MB RAM, which should only improve it...
It's pretty lame, I certainly felt bad when I saw a friend's Pentium 4 1.8GHZ laptop still showing 2 hours left of battery at 70%.

Re:Battery (4, Informative)

Twirlip of the Mists (615030) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639294)

It's called "PowerBook G4 and iBook: How to Calibrate a New Battery for Best Performance", search for it at support.apple.com.

Or just click here [apple.com] .

Re:Battery (1)

TomorrowPlusX (571956) | more than 11 years ago | (#5643912)

I don't know about the iBook, but my powerbook 12" came with an... ahem.... *manual* and one of the first topics was "How to Calibrate a New Battery for Best Performance"

Good god. Doesn't anybody RTFM? Or is paper just too 20th century???

More RAM == More Battery. (1)

BoomerSooner (308737) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640205)

How do you think the RAM holds it's charge? Magic?

256MB is fine on a PC and 384 is fine on a Mac. The only apps I've used that could use more are PS 7 and Eclipse (could use 2GB if you could add it).

Re:More RAM == More Battery. (1)

punkass (70637) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641335)

I think he was refering to the fact that if he had more ram, he would be swapping to disk less (and the less the disk is used, the more energy is conserved).

Re:More RAM == More Battery. (1)

BoomerSooner (308737) | more than 11 years ago | (#5644254)

It doesn't work that way unfortunately. You have to keep the whole 512MB stick charged to keep the ram stable for the OS. You cannot only keep part of the ram charged. The more ram you have the more charge it takes to keep the system up. Believe me, I have a dell inspiron 8100 with 2 slots and I have used it with 2 256mb chips and 1 256mb chip and the 1 chip config uses less power (15-20 minutes worth on a 2.5-3hour battery). So since I keep a watch on my ram usage in windows I rarely need more than 256mb anyway (384 is common in OS X on my mac). So when I need to go mobile I just pull out 1 chip. When i'm in desktop mode (AC Power) I pop it back in. 20 minutes makes a big difference when flying across the country and not wanting to be bored.

One nitpick with the pb 12" (5, Informative)

TomorrowPlusX (571956) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639267)

I've had my AiBook for (about) 2 months now, and right now I'm going to say I love every single aspect of it. Absolutely. No waffling here. I'm a switcher, but from the linux/i386 world, and I've had no trouble porting over my servo control routines and all the other robotics related code I've written over the last couple years for linux.

So basically, I'm happy as a clam. Happier even.

But for one silly little thing: the metal drop-down catch which locks the lid shut when I close it. For some reason (most likely a mechanical defect) it doesn't pop back in when I open the lid. Trivial? Yes. All it takes is one tenth of a second to tap it with my finger when I open it and it pops back where it belongs.

Nonetheless, as a fella raised in a machine shop (my father's a machinist/sculptor/etc/luddite) this kind of thing bothers me. I examined it closely and it's very simple -- the latch's "bearing" is nothing but a hole slightly larger than the axle, so you get minimal friction and maximum simplicity. But it seems to allow sideways motion and this (in my case) is causing binding. I'm not about to oil it, for obvious reasons, though if I can find a non-conductive graphite lube ( "Dry Slide" ) I might give it a shot.

What concerns me is not so much the lack of it retracting, but that someday, if the binding gets too great, it might stop popping down when I close the lid.

So, it's a cool feature and all but my old thinkpad, with its simpler trigger mechanism never had this problem.

There's a lot to be said for simplicity. I kind of wish apple had forgone the cool and wow effect in this place for something a little more sturdy.

Re:One nitpick with the pb 12" (1)

EricHsu (578881) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641132)

Yep, that darned magnetic catch is a pain. Mine broke on my old 500 MHz TiBook 15". Someone else I know also had his break and he had to send it in for repairs (I think the sleep mechanism got messed up). If you close the lid just wrong (not quite sure what the pattern is), you can bang the latch against something hard.

Very cool, but fragile.

- Eric

Dear Apple (-1, Flamebait)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5639487)

Dear Apple,

I am a homosexual. I bought an Apple computer because of its well earned reputation for being "the" gay computer. Since I have become an Apple owner, I have been exposed to a whole new world of gay friends. It is really a pleasure to meet and compute with other homos such as myself. I plan on using my new Apple computer as a way to entice and recruit young schoolboys into the homosexual lifestyle; it would be so helpful if you could produce more software which would appeal to young boys. Thanks in advance.

with much gayness,

Father Randy "Pudge" O'Day, S.J.

Re:Dear Apple (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5640185)

It is a statistically provable fact that there are more gay men using PCs than Macs, through sheer marketshare.

Besides, how do you account for the gay man's superior sense of style?

And, how do you account for proving this point by cutting-and-pasting the same woefully pathetic incendiary letter on every single goddamned Apple post?

How, AC, do you reconcile the fact that you are somehow *threatened* by what is (by your own admission) the Mac's superior technology? How do you respond to that without looking, to all the world, like Jackass Prime?

Answer: you don't.

Dear Father O'Day (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5639531)

Dear Father O'Day:

Thanks for your letter. Being Catholic myself, I know exactly what you're talking about! It has always been our plan here at Apple Computer Inc to revolutionize personal computing with our high-quality and highly gay products.

I'm happy to answer your letter by letting you know that YES we will be releasing an entire hLife ("homo-life") software line. You'll be able to recognize it in stores by the small stylized logo depicting a large cock entering a tight anus with an Apple logo on it. ("Suddenly it all comes together" indeed!).

Anyway, I hope you and other members of our community will join us on our mission, and purchase the exciting new hLife boxed set. Only the boxed set comes with translucent cock rings!

Sincerely,

Harry Rodman
Vice-president
Homosexual Liaison Services
Apple Computer, Inc.

Battery (1)

kalidasa (577403) | more than 11 years ago | (#5639847)

On an iBook, with 10.2.4, I don't have any battery issues. I can't get more than 3.5 hours by shutting off Airport, lowering the sound and screen brighteness, etc., while keeping my processor to full speed, but I imagine that if I lowered by processor speed I'd get pretty close to 5 hours.

Re:Battery (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 11 years ago | (#5640223)

if i fully charge my iBook's battery and start it up right away with reduced everything, i can get 6.42 hours out of the battery, this is with the screen virtually black! But i can vaguely see the contents of the screen so i would treat this as its limit. I can have around the 5 hour mark and make it last a whole day at college which on tuesday is my biggest, lasting 9 hours. Sending the machine to sleep as often as possible helps.

Re:Battery (1)

Trurl's Machine (651488) | more than 11 years ago | (#5640865)

On an iBook, with 10.2.4, I don't have any battery issues. I can't get more than 3.5 hours by shutting off Airport, lowering the sound and screen brighteness, etc., while keeping my processor to full speed, but I imagine that if I lowered by processor speed I'd get pretty close to 5 hours.

As far as I know, this option is NOT available in MacOS X running on G3 portables. It is available on the Powerbook G4, but not on the iBook. At least not on mine. I even tried to clone OS from Powerbook G4, but on the iBook I have just blank space in the Preference Pane (in the same spot where PB G4 has this option). The only chance to reduce CPU speed is under OS 9.
Now - if I am wrong, I will be more than happy to admit it. Maybe there is some third-party hackie for Pref Panes, allowing to reduce CPU speed for G3 Macs under 10.2?

For the record: I am getting about three hours of battery life under maximum power consumption (Airport ON, DVD playback, maximum sound and brightness), about four hours with reasonable settings on OS X, and five and half on OS 9 with no sound, dimmed screen and reduced CPU speed. The machine in question is a 12" 800 MHz iBook.

Re:Battery (a note on reducing processor speed) (1)

fluf (649368) | more than 11 years ago | (#5650994)

As far as I know, this option is NOT available in MacOS X running on G3 portables. It is available on the Powerbook G4, but not on the iBook. At least not on mine.

The machine in question is a 12" 800 MHz iBook

I'm pretty sure that the newer/ newest iBooks have the ability to lower the processor speed.

I'm talking about the 600, 700 and 800 MHz models that have a radeon 16 MB or better GPU.

IIRC, they use the G3 750FX (as opposed to the older G3 750gx) which has 512K full-speed backside cache, and the ability to reduce the processor clockspeed through software, which should enable processor cycling to slow the cpu when not on battery.

If I'm not mistaken, IBM even touted this as a feature in their docs (I'll have to search for them another time), and the fact that the processor speed could be controlled through software was also the way one could overclock an iBook's processor through software by using the older versions (now since pulled by apple because of exactly this possibility) of Apple's CHUD tools. Various reports on this excist on the internet (for instance on Accelerate your mac).

So my guess is something is broken in your install. The option to reduce processor speed when on battery should be in the appropriate system preferences tab, if your machine is an 800 MHz iBook. It's present on my 600 MH iBook.

The timing issues between the mac, isync and a T68i are a matter of not having set the computer and the phone to the same timezone. This is changed easily on both the mac and the phone.

Cheers, and sorry for not replying sooner, but hey, I became a first-time uncle yesterday, so visiting the new mom and her son took precedence over replying ;) . I'm sure you all will understand ;)

Re:Battery (a note on reducing processor speed) (1)

Trurl's Machine (651488) | more than 11 years ago | (#5652363)

Thanks, I'll check it out.

As long as it don't burn your penis or explode (1)

SensitiveMale (155605) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641165)

then it gets good grades

http://iafrica.com/news/sa/3030.htm

http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/54/28245.ht ml

12" Powerbook ? (2, Funny)

kyrre (197103) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641227)

A 12 inch Powerbook? Like that will ever happen. Come on guys enough with the April fool jokes already..

I here there's this medicine... (1)

FredFnord (635797) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641371)

...that will enlarge your powerbook, with pills alone.

I get a lot of spam about it, so it must work, right?

-fred

Caveat emptor (2, Interesting)

azav (469988) | more than 11 years ago | (#5641569)

It's not all roses.

Now I am a rather big mac fan. My roomie saw my 1G Ti and had to get a 12 inch. Here's what happened.

- iSync did not work with his ericsson/sony phone. All meetings were 7 hours off from iCal settings. This rendered it useless.
- The Ericsson/sony phone could not connect the 12 inch to the internet over bluetooth and was a major time sucker to try and get it to work. In the end we gave up. Time is money.
- Plugged into our network, the 12 inch couldn't see through our firewall to any outside urls or tci/ip addresses including those at my house. My 15 inch worked fine. LOTS of time on the phone to tech support. No resolution. Airport support was not an option but I even did buy an airport extreme to help him out but he was already soured.

Too many issues to deal with. It was sent back to Apple and we were sad.

Stuff's got to work out of the box and work well. We were all rather disappointed. I remain the sole mac user at my company.

:

Regarding iSync time difference (1)

biggyfishy (604604) | more than 11 years ago | (#5642606)

I had the same time difference problem with iSync and Sony Ericsson T68i.

I suppose it's moot now because your 'puter's gone, but the problem is caused by the phone's time zone not being set to the same time zone as the computer.

iSync "cleverly" compensates your appointment times in England for the equivalent time in Australia (in my case). Well, it might be clever for people who travel a lot (can anyone comment?), but it's very easy to not set the time zone in the phone (you have to go looking for the option).

Heat solution (2, Funny)

grantsellis (537978) | more than 11 years ago | (#5642867)

I just switched and have felt the mighty heat of the 12in.
My solution is two words: blue jeans.

if you get the thick kind, you won't even be bothered when playing games (which seems to be the worst time for me since you got the both hard and optical drive spinning)

of course, if you got your work to pay for your Mac, and have to use it with slacks, then you get what you deserve :)
Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?